Spain and Finland are to open their doors to migrant workers from
new EU member states in eastern Europe from May 1 but barriers in big
countries will remain.

Eastern Central European workers may soon be able to offer their services in 6 out of the EU’s 15 old
member states, if Portugal follows earlier decisions by Britain,
Ireland and Sweden to allow unrestricted access to their labour
markets. Other important countries, such as Germany, Austria, Denmark,
Italy and France – all with governments led by conservative parties –
are set, however, to renew the ban for workers from the 8 new member
states from behind the former iron curtain.
See also Euroarchive and IHT